List of nationally notifiable diseases

From Public Health Agency of Canada

Notifiable diseases

Click on the disease name for links to other information on the disease.

Current list of nationally notifiable diseases and years of notifiable
Current notifiable diseasesYears notifiableNotes
AIDS1986 - present
Acute Flaccid Paralysis (AFP)2000 - present
Anthrax1930 - 1982, 2002 - present
Botulism 1933 - present
Brucellosis1928 - presentOriginally called 'undulant fever'
Campylobacteriosis 1986 - present
Chickenpox (Varicella)1924 - 1958, 1986 - present
Chlamydia1991 - presentSee 'sexually transmitted infections' in the listing of links
Cholera 1930 - presentAsiatic' cholera specified between 1930 and 1958
Clostridium difficile Associated Diarrhea (CDI)2009 - present
Congenital Rubella Syndrome (CRS)1979 - present
Congenital Syphilis1993 - presentSee 'sexually transmitted infections' in the listing of links
Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (CJD)2000 - presentNot presented on the application
Cryptosporidiosis 2000 - present
Cyclosporiasis 2000 - present
Diphtheria1924 - present
Giardiasis 1983 - present
Gonorrhea1924 - presentSee 'sexually transmitted infections' in the listing of links
Group B Streptococcal Disease of the Newborn (GBS)2000 - present
Invasive Haemophilus influenzae, type b Disease1986 - presentInvasive Haemophilus influenzae disease was collected from 1979 onward, but with no type specified
Invasive Haemophilus influenzae, non-b Disease2007 - present
Hantavirus Pulmonary Syndrome2000 - present
Hepatitis A 1927 - 1958, 1969 - presentOriginally named 'infectious jaundice'. Between 1959 and 1968, hepatitis was reported as a combined category, and since the type of hepatitis cannot be determined, these data are not reported.
Hepatitis B1969 - presentOriginally named 'serum hepatitis'. Reporting does not differentiate between acute and chronic cases
Hepatitis C1991 - present Hepatitis C cases would have been captured in the earlier categories of Hepatitis non-A, non-B, and Hepatitis, unspecified by type
HIV Infection2000 - present
Influenza, Epidemic1924 - 1958
Influenza, Laboratory Confirmed2000 - present
Invasive Group A Streptococcal Disease2000 - present
Invasive Meningococcal Disease1924 - present
Invasive Pneumococcal Disease2000 - presentReplaced pneumococcal meningitis. Invasive pneumococcal disease is a more general category that would include pneumococcal meningitis, but would also include other invasive pneumococcal infections.
Legionellosis1986 - present
Leprosy1925 - present
Listeriosis 1990 - 1999, 2007 - present From 1990-2000, all forms of listeriosis were notifiable. Starting in 2007, only invasive forms required notification
Lyme Disease2009 - present
Malaria1929 - 1978, 1983 - present
Measles1924 - 1958, 1969 - present
Mumps1924 - 1958, 1986 - present
Norovirus Infection 2007 - presentOnly outbreaks are to be notified
Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning2007 - present
Paratyphoid1924 - presentParatyphoid was reported in a separate category between 1924 and 1952 then from 1953 to 1968 combined with typhoid, once again reported separately from 1969 to 1999, then combined with salmonellosis in 2000.
Pertussis1924 - presentAlso known as whooping cough
Plague1930 - present
Poliomyelitis1924 - presentNon-paralytic poliomyelitis was presented in the viral meningitis category starting in 1962
Rabies1927 - present
Rubella1924 - 1958, 1969 - presentAlso known as German measles
Salmonellosis 1959 - present Paratyphoid was included with salmonellosis starting in 2000
SARS 2004 - presentThough SARS was added to the list in 2004, the time lag for the implementation of reporting means that none of the cases in the 2003-2004 outbreak would be included in the notifiable disease data.
Shigellosis1924 - presentOriginally named 'bacillary dysentery'
Smallpox1924 - 1981, 2002 - presentSmallpox was eradicated globally in 1980. It was returned to the list in 2000 as a potential bioterrorism agent
Syphilis1924 - presentSee 'sexually transmitted infections' in the listing of links
Tetanus1957 - present
Tuberculosis1924 - present
Tularemia1930 - 1982, 2002 - present
Typhoid1924 - 1952, 1969 - presentBetween 1953 and 1968, was presented as a combined category of 'typhoid and paratyphoid'
Verotoxigenic Escherichia coli Infection1991 - present
Viral Hemorrhagic Fever1979 - 1982, 2002 - present
West Nile Virus Infection (WNV)2003 - present
Yellow Fever1930 - present

List of past nationally notifiable diseases and years notifiable
Past notifiable diseasesYears notifiableHistorical notes
Actinomycosis1930 - 1958, 1969 - 1999
Amoebiasis1924 - 1999Originally called 'amoebic dysentery'
Cancer1931 - 1959
Chancroid1943 - 1968, 1979 - 1983
Conjunctivitis1925 - 1959Restricted to neonatal (ophthalmia neonatorum) as of 1943
Encephalitis1924 - 1986 This category began as infectious encephalitis, then was restricted to encephalitis caused by insect-borne diseases in 1962. The category was further restricted to western equine encephalitis in 1969. In 1979 a category of meningitis/encephalitis was introduced to the list, which included all types of meningitis or encephalitis that would not be captured under any of the other specified diseases.
Epidemic Diarrhea of the Newborn1959 - 1978
Erysipelas1930 - 1958
Food Poisoning1959 - 1981Food poisoning included staphylococcus and other unspecified bacteria, but not salmonella, which was reported separately.
Glanders1931 - 1958
Louse-borne Relapsing Fever1959 - 1978
Meningitis, Bacterial1979 - 1999Does not include meningococcal meningitis
Meningitis, Viral1963 - 1999Included non-paralytic poliomyelitis in 1963, in 1967 included meningitis caused by polio virus, coxsackie virus, echo virus, and other/unspecified, polio virus removed and replaced with enterovirus in 1968.
Pellagra1930 - 1942
Pemphigus Neonatorum1959 - 1969Impetigo of the newborn
Pneumonia1930 - 1944
Psittacosis1930 - 1982Included ornithosis
Puerperal Septicaemia1924 - 1959
Q Fever*1959 - 1978See Rickettsial infections for information on reporting
Rickettsial Infections1959 - 1978*In 1959, a number of related diseases that had been reported separately for varying periods of time (Rocky Mountain spotted fever, Q-fever, typhus, and others) were combined under the category 'rickettsial diseases'.
Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever*1930 - 1978See Rickettsial infections for information on reporting
Scarlet Fever1924 - 1978Scarlet fever and septic sore throat were combined as a single condition in 1955.
Septic Sore Throat1924 - 1978This would currently be described as 'strep throat'. Septic sore throat was renamed to 'streptococcal sore throat' in 1958 and combined with scarlet fever in 1955.
Tick Paralysis1930 - 1956
Trachoma1930 - 1958
Trichinosis1929 - 1999
Typhus Fever*1929 - 1978See Rickettsial infections for information on reporting
Vincent's Angina1927 - 1958

Date modified: